Skip to content

Punctuation

July 24, 2011

My life is a footnote and

you’re just punctuation,

you’re just punctuation-

 

My mind is a wander-land

and all it retrieves is skin so

all I want to touch is hands-

 

your ir-is the center of gravity,

your retinas are well-wishes

but the fountain is out of reach

 

and everyone seems so gray

but they say we’re all one – I’m afraid

we’re just dust-motes in sun-beams

 

Yet I hear we’re born to live

I’ve guessed I should live to love-

but we just don’t feel alive

 

ashes and clay and dust and sand

the world is sick and it feels like dying –

air and water and fire and land

but the weather’s grand and I feel like flying –

 

Life is a footnote and

we’re just punctuation,

you’re just punctuation-

 

but

 

you accent my life!

From → Poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

